Beware this malware: It “annoys” you into handing over login details • Blisstech Solutions

How cautious are you and your team with online security? You know about phishing scams, dodgy downloads, and not clicking suspicious links, right?

But an even sneakier new type of malware (malicious software) wants to frustrate you into giving up your Google login details.

The malware doesn’t have a catchy name yet, but it’s part of a larger threat known as “Amadey,” which has been on the rise since August.

It forces your PC into “kiosk mode” (a setting often used on public computers that only lets you access one window). This allows it to lock your browser in full screen mode, hiding all your usual navigation buttons, such as the address bar and menus. Then, you get sent to a fake Google password reset page.

Normally, you’d just hit the Esc or F11 keys to get out of full-screen mode, right? Well, not this time. It won’t work if the malware has infected your PC. It wants to confuse you into thinking you must enter your password to solve the problem.

The password reset page will look like a real Google page. But the second you type in your details, a second piece of malware hiding in the background steals them, falling right into the hands of cyber criminals.

It’s pretty scary stuff.

But here’s the good news: You can break free without giving up your details.

If your browser gets stuck in full-screen mode, try hitting ALT+TAB to switch tasks or ALT+F4 to force the window to close. Otherwise, try closing it through your task manager (CTRL+ALT+DELETE).

If all else fails, restart your PC by holding down the power button or unplugging it, then get an expert (like us) to look at the malware.

Prevention is always the best approach, though. Be wary if your computer starts behaving strangely, especially if your browser suddenly goes into full-screen mode and won’t let you navigate away.

Avoid clicking on suspicious links or downloading attachments you aren’t sure about. And as tempting as it might be to get past an annoying screen, never enter your password unless you’re 100% sure the website is legit.

If you’d like us to teach your team how to avoid the latest scams, we can help. Get in touch.

More Content

Cyber attacks: Stronger, faster and more sophisticated

Cyber attacks: Stronger, faster and more sophisticated

A new cyber security report has brought some bad news: Cyber attacks are getting stronger, faster, and more sophisticated. We have all the details.

Time to move your business to the cloud?

Still relying on office computers? It’s time to move your business to the cloud. A few years ago, running your business using data and apps stored on office computers—or a dusty server in the cupboard—might have worked. But times have changed. With remote teams and...
Slow PCs? Manage which applications launch at startup

Slow PCs? Manage which applications launch at startup

Your PC might be frustratingly slow because too many applications are starting up when you hit the power button. Windows 11 has a new solution to tell you when new apps are added to your startup list. We have all the details.

Microsoft hints at some exciting Windows 12 developments

Windows 11 still feels like a new toy, yet we’ve already heard speculation about Windows 12 arriving as soon as next year. It’s all we can think about!

Is app overload slowing down your team?

Is app overload slowing down your team?

How many different apps and chat services are your employees juggling every day? Chances are, it’s making your business less productive. Good news: There’s a simple solution. We have the details.

Here’s how to fix that Windows 11 File Explorer glitch

Here’s how to fix that Windows 11 File Explorer glitch

Is your business running version 24H2 of Windows 11? You might be experiencing a small but annoying glitch when clicking “See more” in File Explorer. Here’s how to fix it.

Why the Cloud is not backup

Cloud computing has revolutionised the way businesses work.  Companies that utilise the cloud will have coped the best with COVID-19 imposed restrictions.  Whether forced to by circumstance or not, businesses are moving from the traditional server in the office to...

It’s nearing the end for Windows 10 – Are you ready?

It’s time to say goodbye to Windows 10 Next year, we’ll say a final farewell to Windows 10 as it reaches the end of its life. Microsoft is stopping support. This means no new tools or features and no more security updates. If you’re still using Windows 10 in your...

Tech Tip: How to add your availability to an Outlook Email

Today's Tuesday Two Minute Tech Tip will save you time when arranging meetings. Are you wasting time when trying to book meetings by constantly going back and forth with people trying to find a suitable time? There is a better way to find time for a meeting by using...
Can’t find what you need in Teams? This makeover will increase your business’s productivity

The Teams Fall 2024 update will increase your business’s productivity

The latest feature update in Teams is bringing a central notifications hub to keep things more organised. And a whole host of other useful features. We’ll tell you all about it here.

Share This
Contact
Love Lane
Cleobury Mortimer
Shropshire DY14 8PE

01299 382 321
[email protected]
Copyright © Blisstech Solution Ltd
Registered No: 08125391 VAT No : 307 5490 05