Beware this malware: It “annoys” you into handing over login details • Blisstech Solutions

How cautious are you and your team with online security? You know about phishing scams, dodgy downloads, and not clicking suspicious links, right?

But an even sneakier new type of malware (malicious software) wants to frustrate you into giving up your Google login details.

The malware doesn’t have a catchy name yet, but it’s part of a larger threat known as “Amadey,” which has been on the rise since August.

It forces your PC into “kiosk mode” (a setting often used on public computers that only lets you access one window). This allows it to lock your browser in full screen mode, hiding all your usual navigation buttons, such as the address bar and menus. Then, you get sent to a fake Google password reset page.

Normally, you’d just hit the Esc or F11 keys to get out of full-screen mode, right? Well, not this time. It won’t work if the malware has infected your PC. It wants to confuse you into thinking you must enter your password to solve the problem.

The password reset page will look like a real Google page. But the second you type in your details, a second piece of malware hiding in the background steals them, falling right into the hands of cyber criminals.

It’s pretty scary stuff.

But here’s the good news: You can break free without giving up your details.

If your browser gets stuck in full-screen mode, try hitting ALT+TAB to switch tasks or ALT+F4 to force the window to close. Otherwise, try closing it through your task manager (CTRL+ALT+DELETE).

If all else fails, restart your PC by holding down the power button or unplugging it, then get an expert (like us) to look at the malware.

Prevention is always the best approach, though. Be wary if your computer starts behaving strangely, especially if your browser suddenly goes into full-screen mode and won’t let you navigate away.

Avoid clicking on suspicious links or downloading attachments you aren’t sure about. And as tempting as it might be to get past an annoying screen, never enter your password unless you’re 100% sure the website is legit.

If you’d like us to teach your team how to avoid the latest scams, we can help. Get in touch.

More Content

Tech Tip: How to use Mail Merge

This Tuesday Two Minute Tech-tip shows you how to automate customised emails and letters using Mail Merge. Imagine; you need to send a letter or email to 10s, or even 100s of people with the same base content, but personalised for each recipient. You could manually...

Tech Tip: Understanding Microsoft work and personal accounts

Welcome to another Blisstech Solutions Tuesday Tech Tip! Have you set up both a personal and work Microsoft account and are now running into problems when you are trying to work as you can't work out which account you are logged in with?  You are not alone and we see...
Beware the next generation of phishing attacks

Beware the next generation of phishing attacks

Most phishing scams still feel a little… amateur.
But the next shift is dangerous.
Attackers are changing how scams are built, not just how they’re sent. And the signs people have been trained to look for won’t always be there anymore…

What is Proactive Monitoring and how can it protect your business?

How proactive monitoring will help your business weather any storm. You are the captain of your business's ship. You have a loyal and skilled team behind you. You are ready for any challenge! Or so you thought. Then, one day, without warning, a vast digital monster...
OneDrive Backup Tip Video Thumbnail

Tech Tip: Using OneDrive to automate backups

Happy Tuesday everyone! Today's Tech Tip is a tip on how to use OneDrive to automate the backup of Known Folders. Known Folders are what Microsoft call your Documents, Desktop and Pictures folders in your Windows profile. If you are like most people, you will accept...

Are you using the all-new Teams yet?

Tired of waiting for Teams to load? Microsoft has heard your frustration and has rebuilt it from the ground up. The all-new Teams is faster and uses less memory; we give you all the details

Why now is a great time to start your own business

"I can accept failure, but I can't accept not trying." - Michael Jordan We are living in unprecedented times.  People are being prevented from leaving their homes and the average worker has been sent to work from home, put on reduced hours, or worse.  It is...

Tech Tip: How to use Search Outlook Folders to organise your Inbox

Welcome to a new Tuesday Two Minute Tech Tip that will help you to organise your inbox using the Outlook powerful search features. Are you the kind of person who likes to organise emails into folders? Are you manually dragging your emails around to organise them? This...
How to use footnotes and endnotes in Word

Tech Tip: How to use footnotes and endnotes in Word

This Tech Tip is another tip for Microsoft Word. If you use Word to write documentation, contracts or any other type of detailed document, then this tip is for you. Usually, when you write such a document, you may need to expand on certain sentences without making the...
WAIT sign on British road crossing

How to delay Windows 10 updates

It is an undisputed fact that, to keep your computer secure, you should keep the software running on it up to date.  We go on about it again and again and again.  However, there is a balance between making sure that you have the latest Windows 10 updates, and also...
Share This
Contact
Love Lane
Cleobury Mortimer
Shropshire DY14 8PE

01299 382 321
[email protected]
Copyright © Blisstech Solution Ltd
Registered No: 08125391 VAT No : 307 5490 05